Radiation Oncology


Information for Health Professionals

Information for Patients

The Royal Adelaide Hospital Department is the largest provider of public radiotherapy services in South Australia and Northern Territory, with access to the most diverse range of treatment modalities. Our network includes the Northern Cancer Centre (Lyell McEwin Hospital) and Alan Walker Cancer Care Centre (Royal Darwin Hospital), delivering treatment that is without any gap payment. Our radiation oncologists contribute to major multidisciplinary meetings across all tumour sites and provide outreach and telemedicine clinics for rural patients, including Mount Gambier, Port Augusta and Mt Barker. Our department has the strongest Radiation Oncology research group in South Australia with access to locally based, multi-institutional and multi-national trials. We enjoy collaborative partnerships with our Medical Oncology, Haematology and Surgical colleagues and all our clinicians are Trans Tasman Radiation Oncology Group members, the main research body in Australia for our discipline.

Our Doctors

Director: A/Prof Michael Penniment
Deputy Director: Dr Scott Carruthers
Trainee Network Director: Dr Rahul Mukherjee
Director of Training: Dr Andrew Potter
Director of Research: Prof Eric Yeoh
  Prof Daniel Roos
Dr Raghu Gowda
Dr Braden Higgs
Dr Hien Le
Visiting Specialist: A/Prof Martin Borg



General Enquiries: 08 8222 4383
Booking Reception: 08 8222 5926
Nursing Station: 08 8222 4315


How to Refer

Please include the following information:

Patient name, address and phone number, relevant pathology, imaging and correspondence, referrer name and provider number

Fax: 08 8222 2016
Post: Dept of Radiation Oncology
Royal Adelaide Hospital
North Terrace
Adelaide SA 5000